By A Nose

“And they’re coming around the final turn, Blue Dancer in the front with Chargin’ Charlie close on his heels!  They’re on the home stretch, Chargin’ Charlie closing the gap…now pulling even…and it’s Chargin’ Charlie by a nose at the wire!”

OK, I can’t vouch for that call since I’ve never been to a horse race and I doubt that I ever will attend a horse race.  I wouldn’t mind going, I guess, but I sure don’t want to bet on a race.  I just don’t get the idea of gambling at all!  But, now that we’re closer to Kentucky, I’m sure that it would be exciting to go to the Derby sometime and just take in that ambiance to say “I did it!”

As we were returning to the now semi-familiar confines of the Norcross, GA area, we were thirsty, so as we drove down the road, we saw a gas station with a food mart and there were people selling Girl Scout cookies outside.  We pulled off the road and when we pulled into the parking lot, there as a farmhouse across the road and three horses were in the pasture on the other side of the fence.  While Laurel went in to the store to get the drinks (yes, I drank diet!!!  Have I no manly pride left????!!!!!!) I took my camera and shot the horses.  Well, that sounds bad, doesn’t it?  I took their photos (I didn’t even both to ask for a photo release!)  One horse, in a blanket, had caught my attention, but as soon as I walked up to the wire fence, the other two horses came sauntering in my direction.  They walked right up to me, hoping I had an apple or sugar cubes or even some Snickers to give them, but I didn’t.  All I could do was talk to them and take their pictures.

But I had a problem, I had my 300mm telephoto lens on my EOS 7D, so I just fired away.  While they were too close to the fence to get their entire heads, I was able to get this picture of the nose of one of the horses.

As I thought about it, I figured it would make an interesting blog post.  And let me say this: when someone says that a someone won a race by a nose, well, a horse’s nose is pretty doggone big!!!!

Thankfully, it didn't have a runny nose...

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1947, Lord Louis Mountbatten was names the last Viceroy of India.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the General Sherman tree in Sequoia National Park in California, is the world’s largest tree, estimated to weigh over 6,000 tons.

One thought on “By A Nose”

Leave a Reply

