Christmas Angel

I can’t believe that Christmas is only 4 days away.  It sure doesn’t feel like it.  What with all the moving and everything else that’s been happening in our lives this past month, I have to confess that I’m not in the Christmas spirit this year.  In fact, just today, I told my wife that thus far, this is shaping up as “The Christmas That Never Was.”

Does that sound Bah-humbug-ish?  I’m sorry.  I don’t mean to be that way.  I don’t WANT to be that way.  But, that’s where I’m at right now.  I’m hoping that there’s still time for me to catch the Christmas spirit and reflect on the true meaning and wonder of this time of year.  Maybe if I can get out somewhere and shoot a few pictures it might help me cheer up a bit.

So, I thought I’d post a picture of something I shot this past Sunday afternoon at our son’s church.  I was coming out of the auditorium with the stained glass (that I featured a few days ago) and I saw these beautiful, white porcelain angels all decked out for the Christmas celebration of the birth of the Christ Child.  I thought they were pretty enough to take a picture of two of them.

One thing I’d not noticed about this picture when I took it (in fact, I didn’t notice it until I was preparing it for this blog post) is the reflection in the mirror behind the angel of a white disk of light above the angel’s head.  It is from a ceiling light that was behind me being reflected in the mirror.  I didn’t plan it that way, it was just one of those serendipitous things that sometimes happens in photograph – a surprise halo for a Christmas angel!

A Christmas angel...with a surprise halo!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1620, the “Mayflower”, with it’s band of hardy pilgrims, arrived at Plymouth Rock, Massachusetts.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the Thomas Nast cartoon that first depicted Santa Claus with a sleigh pulled by reindeer appeared in Harper’s Weekly on January 3, 1863.  The drawing was called “Santa In the Camp” and featured Santa Claus delivering presents to soldiers of the Civil War.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Angel”

  1. When I can’t feel the Christmas spirit, which tends to be more often than not, I simply ask the Lord to be my gift this year and to help me be his conduit for loving others. It seems to help get through the moment!

Leave a Reply

