Let the Bustle Begin

Here we are on Black Friday eve.  Bellies are stuffed, families are enjoying one another’s company, the smells of Thanksgiving dinner linger.  There is SO MUCH I have to be thankful for.  In fact, I can’t think of anything that I can’t be thankful for.  I’m the luckiest, most blessed guy on earth.

But tomorrow won’t be such a calm, kick-back type of day.  Tomorrow is Black Friday…so called because it is the day that retailers hope will push them into the black for the year.  Shop, shop, shop!  Stores open at midnight and people crowd in to begin their Christmas shopping.  Tonight on the news, there were clips of people who have been camping outside of Best Buy in order to try to take advantage of the savings.

I must say, I don’t get it.  How can anyone think it is fun to sit on the cement, bundled up against the cold, just to save a tiny bit extra on some do-dad or gadget?  Wouldn’t it be much better to spend it with family…and maybe pay a bit more for the item in a day or two?  I must say, I am not a shopper by nature, so I don’t get the thrall of it anyway.

Today’s photo was taken on June 8, 2002 at New York City’s Times Square.  I just thought that the busyness of the scene was fitting for the coming day.  If you go shopping, that’s fine.  I will love you anyway….but don’t look for me.  I won’t be there!

ON THIS DAY IN HISTORY: in 1961, The Lion Sleeps Tonight became the first African song to hit the top of the US music charts.  It was a version of a South African folk song called Wimoweh and was recorded by the Tokens in English.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: the National Wild Turkey Foundation says that the population of wild turkeys in the United States has grown from a low of 30,000 to over 4 million today.  There is a park in Iowa that has 100 turkeys per square mile…and that’s not counting the Iowans who are there!!!  (Since I’m from Iowa, I can make Iowa Jokes!)

 

Leave a Reply

