Broken, but Beautiful

There are many things that I absolutely love about life: joy, laughter, love, Dr. Pepper, Snickers and Baby Ruth’s, my kids, my grandkids, all my relatives (well, ALMOST all!), sunny days, cold days, rainy days, foggy days, moonlight, the beaches in Hawaii, music, sports, scenery, photography, faith…and I could go on and on for a long, long time, but I won’t.

There are many things that I absolutely hate about life: pain, sorrow, death, farewells, aging, disease, war, hatred, agony, disappointment, poverty, greed, dishonesty, prejudice, injustice…and the list could go on for a long time.

You know, as I was writing those two paragraphs, I had an epiphany: the list of things that I love about life was easy while the list of things I hate was shorter.  I suppose that is a very good thing.  I actually had to stop while on paragraph #2 and THINK to come up with stuff, while the things in paragraph 1 just flowed from my fingertips.  I’m glad for that!

But, the point remains: life has good and bad, ups and downs, health and pain.  Life is at one and the same time broken, but insanely beautiful.  And that’s what today’s photo is about.  I took this close to the entrance to Francis Ford Coppola’s winery just down the road from us.  I thought it told the story that I’m trying to illustrate with this blog post.  Things can even be broken, but beautiful.  I hope that your life is far more beautiful than broken and that we’ll all learn to deal with the broken parts with grace, while appreciating the beautiful parts more each day!

Things may be broken...but still beautiful if we look closely enough...

ON THIS DAY IN  HISTORY: in 1775, the United States Marine Corps was authorized by an act of the Continental Congress.

TRIVIA FOR TODAY: Rebecca Elizabeth Marier was the first woman to graduate at the top of her class at West Point.  Rankings are determined based on academic, military and physical achievement.

 

Leave a Reply

